21 January 2014

BOOK PRIZE: APLA Book Prize Announcement

BOOK PRIZE:  APLA Book Prize Announcement

 The Association for Political and Legal Anthropology is pleased to launch a new book prize for the book that best exemplifies the ethnographic exploration of politics, law, and/or their interstices. The first APLA book prize will be awarded at the American Anthropological Association meeting in 2014 and annually thereafter. It carries an award of $1,000. The winning book will be reviewed in PoLAR: Political and Legal Anthropology Review and may be featured at a roundtable or author-meets-readers session at the AAA meeting. An honorable mention may be identified by the committee, if appropriate.
To be eligible for consideration, a book must examine law and/or politics ethnographically, and must have been published in English. For the 2014 prize only, a book may have been published between 2011-2013; thereafter, the book must have been published during the year prior to the competition.  Either single- or multi-authored books are eligible, however edited volumes, reference works, or second editions of previously published works are excluded from consideration.  Books translated into English from another language are eligible for consideration.  In such cases, the year that the translation was published is considered the year of publication for purposes of eligibility.
Books may be nominated by the author(s), the press, or an APLA member. Nominations must be accompanied by a nominating letter. Send the nominating letter and a copy of the nominated book no later than May 1, 2014 directly to each of the APLA book prize committee members: Bill Maurer, School of Social Sciences, University of California at Irvine, Irvine, CA 92697-500; Susan Hirsch, School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution, 3351 N. Fairfax Dr. MSN 4D3, Arlington, VA 22201; Mona Bhan, Dept of Sociology and Anthropology, De Pauw University, Greencastle, Indiana 46135; Susan Terrio, Dept of Anthropology, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057. Address inquiries to the Chair of Book Prize Committee, Susan Terrio, terrios@georgetown.edu.

No comments: